top of page

What is UX, and what does it have to do with LEGO?

First of all, UX stands for User Experience. There are various “official” definitions out there, such as:


“User experience (UX) design […] creates products that provide meaningful and relevant experiences to users […] including aspects of branding, design, usability and function.” (Interaction Design Foundation, source)

or

“User experience (UX) refers to any interaction a user has with a product or service. UX design considers each and every element that shapes this experience, how it makes the user feel, and how easy it is for the user to accomplish their desired tasks.” (CareerFoundry, source)


All these definitions can go over one’s head a little…so what does it all mean?


I was asked in an interview how I would describe UX to a five year old. I'm not gonna lie, that question threw me. But then I thought about a set of LEGO that I had recently built.

I ended up explaining that UX is everything that comes with the LEGO apart from the LEGO… the interactions you have with it, the feelings that arise from them. The excitement of opening the box and surveying its contents, the smell of the cardboard and plastic, the act of opening the instructions and feeling them in your hand, building the LEGO and how your fingertips get numb after a while. For me, all these have positive connotations and that's what we're after with UX!


For our purposes, the LEGO is your website, and UX is how people interact with it and the feelings it creates in them. How appealing do they find your website? How pleasant is the user’s experience of achieving what they want to on your page - such as, finding out who you are and what you do and how you can help them, or booking a call with you? These and many more small things can have a big impact on a visitor turning into a client, so why not book a no-obligation 30-60 minute FREE Discovery Call with me today to find out how I can help you achieve just that?


I’d love to hear from you!


Best,

Anja

7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page